TES vs. dri eaz & desicants for cold weather drying

BUSY BEE

I'm looking for opinions for upcoming freezing water damage work. The TES seems like the ideal product, but the cost of it and differing opinions with others in my partnership (Dri Eaz & desicants) is becoming quite the debate. Pro's and con's? thanks, Bill

dealtimeman

Everyday is Saturday.
Name
Michael
there was a couple of complete tes trailer units on ebay for 17000 obo, was going to get one of them but was told by multiple sources they would not work well for me in texas and would not be as versitle of a tool in my line up. i am looking at getting two of the 1200's dessicants from phoenix.

Desk Jockey

Name
Rico Suave
I've no experience with big desiccants so I can't speak to them. Most of my experience is with the Dritec 325's and they were great units.

I personally prefer the rapid drying that heat gives you, whether it's an E-TES or the TES trailer unit. The desiccants do an great job but it's still slower drying. Both can create the lower vapor pressure for faster evaporation but the heat drying done correctly is so much faster.

You could always start out with an E-TES or a Phoenix Firebird and see what results are like to test the waters. These units can be used with existing equipment but will work better with the high temp dehumidifers.

Take a look at Drieaz's new LGR 2800i, it looks like an awesome addition to your drying fleet plus they can work in the higher temps and have an attachment for ducting hot dry air beneath poly sheeting.

Hoody

Supportive Member
Name
Steven Hoodlebrink
Okay instead of waiting for an answer (not your fault) I will just say what I was going to say.

If you do larger commercial losses, I would suggest the dessicant. If you're doing residential - small/medium losses, an E-TES or TES unit.

TES by far.
In the winter your outside GPP will be around 1-20, Your exhaust fan will be 3000 cfm.