Tear out pad?

Name
Evets
Do you guys tear out pad on every job, even if it's a cat 1 and not very old?
Every WD company I ask say they tear it out regardless. I don't.
Just curious as to why some do it.

BEFORE YOU REPLY:
I have the meters, Xtreme Xtractor, badass dehus, certifications, experience, blah, blah blah etc., etc.., but feel free to talk to me like I'm a Rookie if you need to, as long as some part of your reply addresses the question.
Thanks.

Name
Lee Stockwell
Always a tradeoff. Usually goes if: over particle board, blandex, or swelling plywood. Cheaper way to remove a lot of moisture and get better drying of baseboards and more.

Reactions: BIG WOOD

Desk Jockey

Name
Rico Suave
No "We always" from our crews. Every situation is different and should be elvaluated as such.

Pad replacement is expensive so we save what we can, when it makes the most sense. Those with pet pad and non-permeable vapor barriers we have to pull.

In the last few years we are pulling more of it as the pet pad becomes more prevalent.

Just off the cuff I'd say we save more than half.

Reactions: Walrus Gumboot

The Great Oz

Name
bryan
Shortest answer:
When it comes down to what is better for the structure and enables the fastest drying at the lowest cost, pad removal is it.

Longer short answer (removing politics and admitting to being just an interested observer):
Top-down drying was sold as a money-saving way to dry carpet, as the insurance company didn't have to pay for new pad and re-installation of the carpet. The end cost actually grew though, as contractors took advantage of generous IICRC rules that let them stack as many pieces of drying equipment in a room as would fit, charging the insurance company for all of those rentals. Insurers weren't happy.