Billboards?

Beeks

Name
J.R.
They kind of go hand and hand with sources like radio and tv, more for name recognition and familiarity im assuming, than actual "calls".

But was still curious if anyone has tried?

was it successful?

how long did you do it for?

tmiklethun

Name
Travis Miklethun
Gary Vanerchuyk jokes about Billboards being a waste of time. "Come on guys you really think anybody is looking at your billboards, its hard enough just to get them to look at the road. They are more likely to see you Facebook post while driving than the billboard"

Not sure this helps, I just thought it was a funny story.

bob vawter

Grassy Knoller
Name
bob vawter
The Xway is three miles from my shop....
that's a mile an' a half from my projected target area.........

idreadnought

Supportive Member
Name
Richard
I have been doing them for 6 months. My opinion is that they will very little to drive business to you. However if you are doing other things to attract business a billboard will improve your brand awareness and make the other stuff more affective.

An example would be if you do google adwords. When someone looks on the internet for a cleaning service it does make it hard for them to trust a company on the www. So by having my billboards up the customers have been saying stuff like, I have been seeing your trucks.

Having three trucks in a city of 100k means that they probably don't see my trucks that often but seeing the billboard with my van on it does sink in after a while.

So in short, you need to start with the low hanging fruit, direct mail and other stuff. Then as your budget allows the next step is brand awareness by billboards, tv, and radio

G Taylor

Name
Gary Taylor