VCT Question

Discussion in 'Hard Surface Hub' started by Matthew Sturgis, Mar 14, 2018.

1. Matthew Sturgis
    Matthew Sturgis

Name:
    Matthew Sturgis
    I have only done one VCT job so far. So I am a complete rookie.
    A church wants an estimate to clean their kitchen.
    They have these big cabinets on wheels. I am wondering how you would clean this job.
    Would you just move them around while you stripped and scrubbed?
    Would you strip on area and move them over before waxing? I am concerned about scuffing or dirtying up the tiles with the tires.
    Or would you move them, strip, wax, and then move them back?

Any input is greatly appreciated.

[​IMG]

Attached Files:

2. Onfire_02_01
    Onfire_02_01

Name:
    Jeremy Gray
    I would see if you could move them out before doing the job.
    The problem is that no matter how you move them arround the wax you are moving them on will not be set up enough to withstand the weight.
    If they don’t really move that much you could move them to clean under then move them into their place and wax arround them. You could also come back the next day, once the wax has set, move the cabinets and wax under; but that would require a second trip.
  3. scottw
    scottw

Supportive Member

Name:
    Scott Warrington
    Good advice above. I would try to move them out. Let someone at the church replace them the next day when the finish is hardened. Clean the wheels while you are there so they are not pushing dirt into the new finish as they get rolled into the room.

If you can't move them out. Move to do the floor under them. Push back into place. Do the rest of the floor.
  4. Small town janitorial
    Small town janitorial

Name:
    Matt Ross
    Move them. Let them move them back in a day or two. If they scratch them, charge them to come back and buff the scratches out. If they want you to move them back the next day, bring some cardboard or drop canvases to roll them on.
    scottw and Hack Attack like this.