Cash and Short Term Investments.... Educate me please.

BIG WOOD

MLPW
Name
Matt w.
I have zero knowledge of things like the stock market, yet I'm considering gambling with it to use the money to invest in a startup Roth IRA. Do I sound stupid enough with my uneducated reasoning? I'm going to make a Visit to my local financial advisor Monday and see if he has some time to help point me in the right direction. But in the meantime, who wants to give me their opinion on the short term stock market investments?

Reactions: Beeks

Beeks

Name
J.R.
Shouldn't have to gamble anything to start a Roth IRA. You can contribute up to $5500 a year to it. Simply start putting money into a Mutual Fund. We use target Mutual Funds via Vanguard.

BIG WOOD

MLPW
Name
Matt w.
Shouldn't have to gamble anything to start a Roth IRA. You can contribute up to $5500 a year to it. Simply start putting money into a Mutual Fund. We use target Mutual Funds via Vanguard.
I know you can start it that way. I'm just wanting to start it with a big push

F

FB7777

First suggestion would be to talk to your accountant and find out what your max contribution to a SEP IRA

You can contribute up to 25% of your net income to this plan, the money saved on taxes is like a return on your capital

It will reduce your tax burden annually , and you have up until Apr 15 2017 to make a previous year contribution

Vanguard is a great place to start, I have been with them since 1998... I would suggest a Life Strategy Fund based on your age. Because they are passively managed , the cost is .25% annually to operate the fund

A financial advisor is going to take a fee ( as much as 2% ) of your investment before the money drops in an investment account. It will be hidden under something like 12B-1 fee.

Financial advisors are parasites sucking off the margins of your investment returns

Go Vanguard.com , their investment advice is free.

No one has a lower cost structure than them

F

FB7777